Central Bank Governor Becomes ECX’s Board Chairperson

Yinager Dessie (PhD), governor of the National Bank of Ethiopia (NBE), has been appointed the board chairperson of the Ethiopian Commodities Exchange (ECX), replacing Sani Redi.

The newly formed ECX board of directors has 11 members, of whom six are from government offices while the remaining are from the private sector.

The new board of directors includes Getahun Mekuria (PhD), minister of Innovation & Technology; Abdisa Yadeta, director general of the Federal Transport Authority; Haileyesus Bekele, president of the Development Bank of Ethiopia; and Abebe Abebayehu, an advisor to the Prime Minister.

Abdela Bagerish, general manager of SA Bagarish, one of the leading coffee exporter companies, has also been re-elected to the board of directors, representing the business community.

Established a decade ago, ECX mainly trades agricultural commodities with its central trading system.

It also provides services such as warehouse delivery, product grade certification and market information system.

In an earlier version of this article it was stated Abebe Abebayehu was an advisor to the Prime Minister. He is not an advisor, he’s an aide to the Prime Minister.

Published on Oct 30,2018 [ Vol 19 ,No 966]



An expected consequence of the growing rift between the constituent par...


The new electricity tariffs that became effective on December 1, 2018,...


Who it is that midwifed the rapprochement between E...


As tobacco companies reap the benefits of weak tobacco controls across...


If some people came to us with something ambitious we feel is next to i...


The procedure followed to increase rents for commercial units managed b...

View From Arada

Ethiopians, like their government, are in overdrive, juggling between j...

Business Indicators


Editors Pick