Hailemariam Forms New Administration

Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn today formed his new administration after parliament approved his nomination after parliament approved his nomination for the cabinet.
The new government will have 26 ministries and four director generals with ministerial ranks.
Hailemariam’s incoming administration largely unchanged, but if features some major changes in some positions, the most notable being Getachew Reda becoming director general of government communication affairs with a ministerial portfolio.
The new administration also includes the introduction of new ministries into the government, such as ministries of state enterprises, livestock and fisheries.
The full list of Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn’s cabinet is as follows:
1. Demeke Mekonnen, deputy prime minister in charge of social cluster;
2. Debretsion G. Michael (PhD), minister of Communications Technology in charge of economic cluster;
3. Aster Mamo, minister of public service in charge of human development cluster;
4. Sirag Fergessa, minister of Defense;
5. Tewodros Adhanom, minister of Foreign Affairs;
6. Kassa T. Brehan, minister of Federal Affairs;
7. Getachew Ambaye, minister of Justice;
8. Abdulaziz Mohammed, minister of Finance & Economic Operations;
9. Tefera Derebew, minister of Transport;
10. Shiferaw Shigute, minister of Education;
11. Abiy Ahmed; minister of Science & Technology;
12. Ambachew Mekonnen (PhD), minister of Construction;
13. Ahmed Abetew, minister of Industry;
14. Worqneh Gebeyehu, minister of Transport;
15. Damitu Hambissa, minister of State Enterprises;
16. Yacob Yalla, minister of Trade;
17. Tollosa Shagi, minister of Mines, Energy & Fuel;
18. Sileshi Getaneh, minister of Livestock & Fisheries Development;
19. Kesetebrehan Admasu (PhD), minister of Health;
20. Abdulfetah Abdulahi, minister of Labour & Social Affairs;
21. Mekuria Haile, minister of Housing & Urban Development;
22. Motuma Meqassa, minister of Water, Irrigation & Electricity;
23. Aisha Moussa, minister of Culture & Tourism;
24. Shiferaw T. Mariam (PhD), minister of Environmental Protection & Forestry;
25. Zenebu Taddese, minister of Children & Women;
26. Redwan Hussien, minister of Youth & Sports;
Director Generals under the rank of ministers
1. Beker Shalle, director general of Ethiopian Revenues & Customs Authority;
2. Getachew Reda, director general of Government Communications Affairs Office;
3. Yinager Dessie (PhD), commissioner of National Planning Commission;
4. Asmelash W. Sellasie, chief Government Whip.

Published on Oct 06,2015 [ Vol 16 ,No 805]



Political transformation is unavoidably rocky, if not delicate. It invo...


Oil transporters are up in arms over tariffs set by the Ministry of Tra...


The cosiness between the Ethiopian authorities and...


The National Bank of Ethiopia has recently made available its fourth-qu...


One hundred years ago today, at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11...


The Addis Abeba Transport Authority and Ride, a popular and an up-and-c...

View From Arada

The private sector is more efficient and customer-oriented than governm...


Editors Pick