Parliament Approves Eight Standing Committee Chairs, Denies Motuma Meqassa

Parliament refused to accept the nomination of Motuma Maqassa, the former minister of Defense, and Atsebeha Aregawi to chair the International Relation & Peace and the Revenue, Budget & Finance standing Committees, respectively.

The parliament went on to approve eight of the 10 standing committee chairs. This included Fozia Amin, former minister of Culture & Tourism, to chair the Legal, Justice & Democracy Affairs Standing Committee.
The post was previously to go to Amanuel Abraham, deputy government whip, but faced resistance from MPs in parliament’s last Tuesday session.

The parliament will fill the remaining two positions in its next assembly.

Published on Nov 09,2018 [ Vol 19 ,No 967]



With a reformist administration in charge of the executive, there has b...


The new electricity tariffs that became effective on December 1, 2018,...


Who it is that midwifed the rapprochement between E...


Egyptian companies are about to sue the federal government over their i...


A recent photo between Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed (PhD) and George Soros...


The future is bleak. Millennials and younger generations who will inher...

View From Arada

There is heated debate on the propriety, decency and morality of breast...

Business Indicators


Editors Pick