Parliament Dissolves, Creates Gov’t Institutions

Parliament has approved the proposal to merge and dissolve 12 institutions and form five out their parts.

Accordingly, the new cabinet merged ministries of Urban Development & Housing with Construction; Trade with Industry, Youth with Children and Women; and Communication Information Technology with Science & Technology.

Parliament has also approved the dissolution of the Federal & Pastoralist Development Affairs by transferring the mandates to the newly formed Ministry of Peace.

The Ministries of Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Public Service and Human, Public Enterprises were downgraded to commissions and agencies.

The new structure also introduced five new institutions including a Job Creation Commission, Tourism Ethiopia, which is formerly called Ethiopian Tourism Organization, and Land Bank & Development Corporation.

grievances, according to Abiy.

“We will not lay off any employee,” he said. “The resource may need to move to its current office though.”

Published on Oct 20,2018 [ Vol 19 ,No 964]



With a reformist administration in charge of the executive, there has b...


The new electricity tariffs that became effective on December 1, 2018,...


Who it is that midwifed the rapprochement between E...


Ethiopia’s economy is at a crossroads. The same old advice will not s...


A recent photo between Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed (PhD) and George Soros...


The future is bleak. Millennials and younger generations who will inher...

View From Arada

There is heated debate on the propriety, decency and morality of breast...

Business Indicators


Editors Pick