Additional Members of Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed’s Team

– Bekele Bulado (PhD), minister of Trade, is now CEO of MetEC;

– Temesgen Tiruneh, a former major in the National Defence Forces and the Amhara Regional State Police Commission Commissioner, is now director of INSA;

– Demitu Hambisa, minister of Women & Children replaces Alemayehu Tegenu as PM Office and head of Cabinet Secretariat;

– Moges Balcha, director general of ERCA, is assigned as head of Democratic System Coordination Centre Study and Publication under the PM Office;

– Ahmed Abitew, minister of Industry, is now head of Policy Research Centre, replacing Abay Tsehaye;

– Fetlework Gebregziabher, deputy chairperson of the TPLF as head of Democratic System Building Coordination Center under the PM Office;

– Yared Zerihun, former state minister for National Information & Security Service (NISS) as Police Commission Commissioner-General;

– Alemnew Mekonnen, vice president of the Amhara Regional State as president of Meles Zenawi Leadership Academy;

– Abadula Gemeda, speaker of the parliament, is assigned as National Security Affairs Adviser to the PM.


Their appointment is with the rank of minister.

Published on Apr 19,2018 [ Vol 18 ,No 938]



An expected consequence of the growing rift between the constituent par...


The new electricity tariffs that became effective on December 1, 2018,...


Who it is that midwifed the rapprochement between E...


As tobacco companies reap the benefits of weak tobacco controls across...


If some people came to us with something ambitious we feel is next to i...


The procedure followed to increase rents for commercial units managed b...

View From Arada

Ethiopians, like their government, are in overdrive, juggling between j...

Business Indicators


Editors Pick